Best 8-Foot Garage Door Openers for Tall Garage Doors

For an 8-foot-tall garage door, choose an opener bundle that explicitly includes an 8-foot extension kit or confirm that a compatible kit is sold separately. The Genie Chain Drive 750 bundle is best for buyers who want battery backup, while the Genie Chain Drive 500 bundle is a straightforward option with an extension kit included. The Chain Drive 550 bundles also include the needed extension, but their listed features differ.

Product Best For 8-Foot Extension
Genie Chain Drive 500 Bundle Simple opener-and-kit package Included
Genie Chain Drive 500 Model 1035 Buyers comparing a standalone opener Not specified
Genie Chain Drive 550 Bundle HomeLink and Car2U users Included
Genie Chain Drive 750 Bundle Backup power and included accessories Included
Genie Chain Drive 550 Model 2035-TKO Buyers prioritizing a preassembled chain Not specified

Genie Chain Drive 500 With 8-Foot Extension

Genie Chain Drive 500 garage door opener with 8-foot extension kit

Check Price on Amazon

This bundle pairs the Genie Chain Drive 500 opener with an 8-foot extension kit. Its 1/2 HP DC motor and chain-drive system are listed with a Genie LED bulb, one-button remote, wall control, and Safe-T-Beam system.

Best for: Buyers who want the opener and tall-door rail extension in one package. The listed kit includes a rail, chain section, master link, and instructions. The extension is stated to work with Genie models 2035, 3035, 2033, and 7035.

Consideration: The extension kit is described for specific Genie models, so verify that the included opener and installation requirements match your door setup before purchasing.

Genie Chain Drive 500 Model 1035

Genie Chain Drive 500 Model 1035 garage door opener

Check Price on Amazon

The Model 1035 is listed as a Genie Chain Drive 500 garage door opener. The provided product information does not specify its included accessories, motor details, or whether an 8-foot extension kit is part of the package.

Best for: Shoppers comparing the Model 1035 with opener-and-extension bundles, especially if they already have a compatible extension kit or plan to confirm one separately. Its selection here reflects its relevance to the Genie Chain Drive 500 family.

Consideration: Do not assume this listing supports an 8-foot door as packaged. Check the product listing and manufacturer guidance for the exact rail length and compatible extension before buying.

Genie Chain Drive 550 With 8-Foot Extension

Genie Chain Drive 550 opener and 8-foot extension kit

Check Price on Amazon

This package combines a Chain Drive 550 opener with an 8-foot chain-drive extension kit. The opener has a heavy-duty chain drive and a five-piece rail system that snaps together without added hardware, according to the supplied product details.

Best for: Buyers who want an included extension and use HomeLink or Car2U built-in vehicle remotes. The listing says the opener works with those systems without additional bridges or repeaters. The extension is stated to fit Genie models 2035, 3035, 2033, and 7035.

Consideration: Confirm the stated extension compatibility with the exact opener model in the package. The listed description does not identify additional accessories such as remotes or a keypad.

Genie Chain Drive 750 With Battery Backup

Genie Chain Drive 750 garage door opener bundle with battery backup and extension kit

Check Price on Amazon

This bundle includes a Chain Drive 750 opener, an integrated battery backup, and an 8-foot extension kit. The product details state that backup power can provide up to 50 opener cycles during a primary power outage.

Best for: Households that want an 8-foot door setup with backup operation and several access controls. The package lists two three-button remotes, a wireless keypad, and a wall console with light control and vacation lock.

Consideration: The stated cycle count applies to the opener’s battery backup. Review the product instructions for operating conditions and confirm the extension kit is suitable for the specific opener and door.

Genie Chain Drive 550 Model 2035-TKO

Genie Chain Drive 550 Model 2035-TKO garage door opener

Check Price on Amazon

The Model 2035-TKO features a heavy-duty chain drive and a five-piece rail system designed to snap together without added hardware. Its chain is factory preassembled, and the listed product information says it works with HomeLink and Car2U without an additional bridge or repeater.

Best for: Buyers who value a preassembled chain and built-in vehicle remote compatibility. These details may help narrow a choice when comparing standalone Chain Drive 550 openers.

Consideration: The supplied features do not say that an 8-foot extension is included. Check for a compatible extension kit and confirm the model requirements before choosing it for an 8-foot-tall door.

Buying Guide: How To Choose An Opener For An 8-Foot Door

Is an extension kit included?

Start by checking the package contents. A standard opener may not include a rail long enough for an 8-foot door. Bundles above that explicitly list an 8-foot extension kit; the Model 1035 and Model 2035-TKO descriptions do not. If a kit is sold separately, verify that it is intended for the exact opener model.

Which features matter most?

  • Backup power: Choose the Chain Drive 750 bundle if continued operation during a power outage is a priority.
  • Vehicle remote compatibility: The listed Chain Drive 550 products identify HomeLink and Car2U compatibility.
  • Included controls: Compare the accessories carefully. The Chain Drive 500 bundle lists a one-button remote and wall control, while the 750 bundle lists two remotes, a keypad, and a wall console.
  • Installation details: Rail design, preassembled components, and extension-kit contents can affect what is required for assembly.

What should buyers verify before ordering?

Check the door height, opener model, extension-kit compatibility, and package contents. Also review the manufacturer’s installation instructions and confirm that the opener is suitable for the door and setup. Product descriptions can vary by bundle, so compare the exact listing rather than relying only on a model family name.

Frequently Asked Questions

Can a standard garage door opener open an 8-foot door?

Only if its rail and configuration support that door height. Many products require a compatible extension kit, so check the model specifications and included parts.

Does every Genie Chain Drive 550 include an 8-foot extension?

No. The Chain Drive 550 bundle listed above includes an extension, but the standalone Model 2035-TKO description does not specify one.

Which option includes battery backup?

The Genie Chain Drive 750 bundle lists integrated battery backup and an 8-foot extension kit.

Which listed products mention HomeLink compatibility?

The Chain Drive 550 bundle and Model 2035-TKO list compatibility with HomeLink and Car2U built-in vehicle remotes.

Should I buy the opener and extension as a bundle?

A bundle can make it easier to confirm that an extension is included, but buyers should still verify that the kit matches the opener model and door requirements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *