If you are shopping for Energy Star rated shingles, verify the product’s current certification rather than relying on the word “energy-efficient” in a listing. None of the five shingles below includes evidence of an ENERGY STAR rating in the supplied product details. They are small-quantity asphalt options for repairs and outbuildings: the 21-pack is best for more coverage, while the other products suit smaller projects. Use the comparison below to identify a fit, then confirm energy-performance documentation before buying for a qualifying roof.
| Product | Best suited for | Listed coverage |
|---|---|---|
| 21-pack gray asphalt shingles | A larger repair or small installation | 33.37 square feet |
| Red 8-pack shingles | Small DIY repairs and outbuildings | Not stated |
| Black double-layer 7-pack | A compact project needing self-adhesive shingles | 10.7 square feet |
| Brown 8-pack shingles | Small roof repairs needing stated coverage | About 12.8 square feet |
| Gray Western 8-count shingles | Replacing missing shingles | About 12 square feet |
21-Pack Gray Asphalt Shingles

Best for: Buyers who need more material for a small roof section or a broader DIY job. The listing states that 21 shingles cover 33.37 square feet, making this the largest stated coverage among the products compared here.
The manufacturer describes the shingles as asphalt and fiberglass, with resistance to fading, cracking, and temperature extremes. It also claims low thermal conductivity that may help regulate indoor temperatures. Those statements do not establish an ENERGY STAR rating or a measured roof-reflectance value.
Limitation: The listing does not provide ENERGY STAR certification evidence. Confirm the actual coverage needed, installation requirements, and energy documentation before purchase.
Red 3-Tab Shingles, 8-Pack

Best for: Small repairs, sheds, pet houses, or other compact DIY projects where a red finish is suitable. Each piece measures 39.4 by 13.1 inches, according to the listing, and the seller describes the shingles as designed to withstand winds up to 60 mph.
This option was selected for its clear small-project focus and stated wind-resistance claim. The listing says the shingles use durable materials but does not specify a total coverage area for the pack, so calculate material needs before ordering.
Limitation: The listed features do not document ENERGY STAR status, solar reflectance, or thermal emittance. Do not treat the wind claim as an energy-efficiency rating.
Black Double-Layer Asphalt Shingles

Best for: A small project where the buyer wants a self-adhesive, double-layer style. The listing gives a pack size of seven and coverage of 10.7 square feet. It also describes the material as thickened asphalt and claims that the design can reduce noise and help with heat management.
Choose this if the compact coverage and installation style suit the project. These listed features may be useful when comparing repair materials, but they are not proof of a certified cool-roof or ENERGY STAR product.
Limitation: Coverage is limited, and the listing does not provide certification or numerical reflectance data. Check whether the installation method is appropriate for the roof and follow the product’s instructions.
Brown 3-Tab Shingles, 8-Pack

Best for: Small repairs where brown shingles match the existing roof. The listing specifies eight pieces measuring 39.4 by 13.1 inches, with approximately 12.8 square feet of coverage. It also claims resistance to weather, temperature extremes, cracking, and water.
This product is a practical comparison choice because its stated pack coverage helps buyers estimate material needs. The listing also describes wind-uplift resistance of 97 kilometers per hour, plus heat insulation and noise reduction.
Limitation: These performance descriptions do not confirm ENERGY STAR qualification. Color and appearance alone cannot establish how much solar heat a roof will reflect.
Gray Western 3-Tab Shingles

Best for: Replacing missing shingles or finishing a small roofing project. The listing identifies this as an eight-count package, not a full bundle, and estimates coverage at about 12 square feet. It says the shingles are designed to withstand winds up to 60 mph.
Choose this if the stated small coverage and gray color fit the repair. The listing’s explicit warning that it is not a full bundle helps prevent buyers from confusing this package with a larger roofing supply.
Limitation: The supplied details do not include ENERGY STAR documentation, reflectance measurements, or a full-bundle quantity.
Buying Guide: How To Choose Energy-Efficient Shingles
How can you confirm an ENERGY STAR rating?
Check the exact product name, model, and manufacturer documentation against current ENERGY STAR information. Ask the seller or manufacturer for documentation if a marketplace listing uses energy-related wording without showing certification. The five products above are not documented as ENERGY STAR rated in the supplied details.
What matters for a cool roof?
Look for published solar reflectance and thermal emittance values, along with documentation from an appropriate rating or certification source. A roof that reflects more sunlight can reduce heat absorbed by the roof, but actual results depend on climate, roof construction, insulation, ventilation, and installation. Do not infer performance from color alone.
How much material should you buy?
Compare stated coverage with the measured roof area and account for the roof’s layout, cuts, and installation pattern. Coverage is supplied for four products here, but not for the red 8-pack. Ask the seller for its coverage figure before using that option for a project estimate.
Are these shingles suitable for a whole-house roof?
The listings describe small packs, repairs, and DIY projects. They do not provide enough information to determine suitability for every full-roof installation. Check local building requirements, the roof’s existing materials, and manufacturer installation guidance before starting work.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are any of these products confirmed as ENERGY STAR rated?
No. The product information supplied for these five listings does not document ENERGY STAR certification.
Does “heat insulation” mean a shingle is ENERGY STAR rated?
No. A seller’s insulation or heat-management claim is not, by itself, proof of ENERGY STAR status. Look for verifiable certification or performance documentation.
Which option lists the most coverage?
The 21-pack gray asphalt shingles list 33.37 square feet of coverage, the largest stated amount among these options.
Can a gray shingle automatically be considered reflective?
No. Color alone does not establish solar reflectance. Check product-specific measurements and documentation.
What should I verify before ordering?
Confirm package coverage, dimensions, intended use, installation instructions, and any energy-performance claims. For an ENERGY STAR requirement, verify the exact product’s current status with reliable documentation.