The highest listed output among these electric fireplaces is 1,500 watts, equivalent to about 5,118 BTU per hour. That makes the 24-inch freestanding stove and Tehanld 60-inch wall fireplace the clearest high-output choices in this group. The Duraflame stoves are better for portable, decorative heat, while the PuraFlame insert suits buyers fitting a fireplace opening. Check the product’s wattage and your room’s heating needs: a stated coverage area is not the same as a BTU rating.
| Product | Listed heat output | Best suited for |
|---|---|---|
| 24-inch Freestanding Fireplace | 1,500W; about 5,118 BTU/hour | High-output portable heating |
| Tehanld 60-inch Fireplace | 1,500W; about 5,118 BTU/hour | Wall-mounted installation |
| Duraflame Black Stove | Output not specified | Portable traditional style |
| Duraflame Bronze Stove | Output not specified | Portable traditional style |
| PuraFlame Klaus Insert | 750W/1,500W in product name | Fireplace insert installation |
24-Inch Freestanding Electric Fireplace

Best for: Buyers who want a portable stove-style fireplace with an explicitly listed 1,500-watt high setting. That wattage converts to approximately 5,118 BTU per hour, the highest clearly specified output in the product details provided.
Its infrared system has 1,000W and 1,500W modes, and the listing says it is suitable for rooms up to 1,000 square feet. A three-sided flame display offers a 180-degree viewing angle, with six flame colors. Listed safety features include overheat protection, a cool-to-touch top, and tip-over shutoff.
Limitation: Room coverage depends on conditions, and the listing does not provide enough information to verify performance in every 1,000-square-foot room.
Tehanld 60-Inch Wall Fireplace

Best for: Buyers seeking a built-in or wall-mounted design with a stated 1,500W maximum. Its high setting is approximately 5,118 BTU per hour, matching the highest listed wattage in this selection.
The unit has 0W, 750W, and 1,500W modes, a digital thermostat with a stated 60°F–99°F range, and a flame-only setting. Installation options include recessed, semi-recessed, and flat wall mounting. The product details also list a child lock, overheat protection, and a cool-touch display.
Limitation: Its installation options require buyers to plan for wall placement and available space; this is not the portable choice.
Duraflame Black Freestanding Stove

Best for: Buyers who prioritize a traditional stove appearance and the ability to move supplemental heat between rooms. The listing describes infrared heating for spaces up to 1,000 square feet, along with side viewing windows, an opening glass door, and a brick-style back panel.
Glowing logs and adjustable flame brightness provide an ambiance feature that can be used as a low-light effect. The product is selected for its portable format and room-heating claim, rather than a verified high BTU rating.
Limitation: The provided details do not specify wattage or BTU per hour, so it cannot be ranked against the explicitly rated 1,500W models for heat output.
Duraflame Bronze Freestanding Stove

Best for: Shoppers who want the same portable Duraflame stove features in a bronze finish. Its listed features include infrared heat for rooms up to 1,000 square feet, side windows, an opening glass door, and glowing logs with a 3D flame effect.
Choose this version if its finish better suits the room; its listed heating and visual features match the black model. As with the black stove, the portability makes it a practical supplemental-heating option for buyers who do not want a fixed installation.
Limitation: The product information provided does not state its wattage or BTU output, so maximum heat cannot be compared precisely.
PuraFlame Klaus 33-Inch Fireplace Insert

Best for: Buyers who want an insert-style fireplace with traditional details. Its product name specifies 750W and 1,500W heater settings; 1,500W is approximately 5,118 BTU per hour. The stated overall dimensions are 35.04 inches wide, 26.96 inches high, and 8.78 inches deep.
It has three flame settings with variable intensity and brightness, and the flame effect can operate without heat. A resin log, ember bed, brick-style interior, glass door, and mesh screen create a classic fireplace look. The listing also describes LED technology.
Limitation: Measure the intended opening and compare it with the listed dimensions before choosing an insert.
Buying Guide: How To Compare Electric Fireplace Heat
What BTU rating should you look for?
Compare stated wattage when a product does not list BTU output. For electric resistance heating, 1,500W is about 5,118 BTU per hour, 1,000W is about 3,412 BTU per hour, and 750W is about 2,559 BTU per hour. These conversions make products easier to compare, but do not establish how quickly a particular room will warm.
Does a 1,000-square-foot coverage claim guarantee enough heat?
No. A coverage statement is not a direct measure of output and does not account for factors such as insulation, ceiling height, drafts, climate, or room layout. Treat coverage as a manufacturer-provided estimate, and use the listed wattage or BTU rating for a more direct output comparison.
Should you choose a freestanding, wall-mounted, or insert model?
Choose a freestanding stove if portability matters. A wall fireplace can preserve floor space but requires suitable installation planning. An insert is intended for a fireplace opening, so dimensions are especially important. Compare the installation format alongside heat output rather than choosing on appearance alone.
Which features matter beyond heat?
Look for the controls and safety details that match your household, such as thermostat settings, heat levels, flame-only operation, overheat protection, or tip-over shutoff. Confirm which features are listed for the specific model; they are not identical across this selection.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the highest BTU electric fireplace in this selection?
The highest explicitly listed output is 1,500W, or about 5,118 BTU per hour. The 24-inch freestanding model and Tehanld wall fireplace specify 1,500W; the PuraFlame product name also lists a 1,500W setting.
Are electric fireplaces measured in BTU?
They may be described in watts or BTU per hour. Converting watts to BTU per hour helps compare stated electrical heat output.
Can an electric fireplace heat an entire home?
These products are described as supplemental heaters. Their suitability for a whole home cannot be determined from the listed details.
Can the flame run without heat?
The Tehanld and PuraFlame listings explicitly describe flame-only operation. Check the specific product details for other models.
Is a larger fireplace automatically more powerful?
No. Physical width and heating output are separate specifications. Compare wattage or BTU per hour rather than appearance alone.