Best Prefab Wood Shed Kits for Storage and Backyard Projects

Prefab wood shed kits offer a practical way to add outdoor storage while leaving room to personalize the finished exterior. The Handy Home Products Designer is best for buyers who want a 12-by-10-foot shed with a dormer and floor kit. Little Cottage Co.’s 10-by-12 Value Workshop suits buyers who want windows and pre-assembled double doors, while its 10-by-20 model is better for more interior space. The Hawthorne provides a larger 12-by-20-foot footprint, and the Scarsdale includes a floor kit. Compare included components, assembly demands, and available product details before choosing.

Product Best For Standout Detail
Handy Home Designer 12×10 Customizable backyard storage Dormer, windows, and floor kit
Little Cottage Co. Value Workshop 10×12 Storage and workshop use Operable windows and double doors
Hawthorne 12×20 Large storage needs Precut wood and 2×4 framing
Little Cottage Co. Value Workshop 10×20 Extra interior room 200-square-foot interior
Handy Home Scarsdale 12×16 Buyers seeking a floor kit Paint and shingles are excluded

Handy Home Products Designer 12×10 Shed

Handy Home Products Designer 12x10 wooden storage shed kit

Check Price on Amazon

This kit is best for homeowners who want a medium-size wood shed with a decorative dormer and the ability to choose their own exterior colors and shingles. Its listed package includes windows and a floor kit. The pre-cut wood is intended for assembly on site, and the primed, treated siding is described as helping protect against dents, decay, and termites.

Assembly requires at least two adults, intermediate skill, and power tools. The listed estimated assembly time is four to eight hours; tools are not included. Paint and shingles are also excluded, so budget time and materials for finishing the exterior.

Little Cottage Co. Value Workshop 10×12

Little Cottage Co. 10x12 Value Workshop wood shed kit

Check Price on Amazon

Choose this 10-by-12-foot kit if you need a workshop-style shed for tools, lawn equipment, or other large items. It has a stated 120-square-foot interior, six-foot sidewalls, 2×4 framing, and pre-assembled double doors measuring 60 inches wide by 72 inches high. Operable windows bring natural light into the interior, making the layout more suitable for working than a windowless storage space.

The LP SmartSide siding is primed and ready to paint, and the listing states a 50-year limited warranty for that siding. The product information does not specify a floor kit, so verify floor requirements and included components before ordering. Its six-foot sidewalls may also be a consideration if you need substantial vertical clearance.

Hawthorne 12×20 Wooden Storage Shed

Hawthorne 12x20 do-it-yourself wooden storage shed kit

Check Price on Amazon

The Hawthorne is best for buyers prioritizing a large 12-by-20-foot footprint and a customizable wood exterior. Its listed construction includes sturdy 2×4 framing and treated, pre-primed LP SmartSide siding. The wood is pre-cut for DIY assembly, and the listing says the siding is designed for resistance to outdoor elements.

Plan carefully for what is not included: this model does not include a floor kit, paint, or roofing shingles. Assembly is listed as a 32-hour project for at least two adults with intermediate skills and power tools, which is a substantial commitment. Choose it if you have space and are prepared to arrange the missing components and finishing materials.

Little Cottage Co. Value Workshop 10×20

Little Cottage Co. 10x20 Value Workshop wood shed kit

Check Price on Amazon

This 10-by-20-foot kit is the better choice between the two Little Cottage Co. workshops when you need more room for equipment, supplies, or workspace. The listed interior is 200 square feet. It includes a floor, six-foot sidewalls, 2×4 framing, operable windows, and pre-assembled double doors measuring 60 inches wide by 72 inches high.

Its LP SmartSide siding is primed for painting, and the listing states a 50-year limited warranty for the siding. The larger footprint requires more yard space than the 10-by-12 model. Check the intended site and local requirements before purchase, and note that the product details provided do not specify assembly time or required tools.

Handy Home Products Scarsdale 12×16 Shed

Handy Home Products Scarsdale 12x16 wooden storage shed kit

Check Price on Amazon

The Scarsdale is a 12-by-16-foot DIY wooden storage shed kit with a floor kit, according to the product name. It may suit buyers comparing a mid-to-large footprint who want a floor component included in the named package. Paint and roofing shingles are specifically excluded, so plan to obtain those separately if needed.

Details supplied for this product do not describe its framing, windows, assembly time, or tool requirements. That limited information makes it harder to compare construction and installation demands with the other kits. Review the full product listing to confirm specifications and included parts before deciding.

Buying Guide: How To Choose A Prefab Wood Shed Kit

How much space do you need?

Start with the items you plan to store and leave room to access them. The listed interior sizes range from 120 square feet for the 10-by-12 workshop to 200 square feet for the 10-by-20 workshop. A larger footprint may better accommodate bulky equipment or a dedicated work area, but it also needs more usable yard space.

What is included in the kit?

Check whether the package includes a floor, windows, doors, and pre-cut materials. The Designer and Scarsdale names specify a floor kit, while the 10-by-20 Little Cottage Co. listing explicitly says it includes a floor. The Hawthorne excludes a floor kit, paint, and shingles. Confirm details for any component not clearly listed rather than assuming it is supplied.

Can you handle the assembly and finishing?

DIY kits still require labor, tools, and a suitable assembly site. The Designer listing calls for at least two adults, intermediate skills, and power tools. The Hawthorne listing estimates 32 hours and also requires two adults and power tools. Primed siding is ready for paint, but paint and roofing shingles may be separate purchases.

Are doors and windows important?

Large double doors can simplify moving equipment in and out. Both Value Workshop listings specify 60-by-72-inch pre-assembled double doors and operable windows. Compare these details with the dimensions of your largest stored items and whether you want natural light for working inside.

What should you verify before ordering?

Confirm the full included-parts list, site preparation needs, local permit requirements, and any applicable property rules. Also check the product listing for current assembly instructions and warranty terms. Do not infer that similarly named kits have identical features; the listed specifications differ by model.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do prefab wood shed kits arrive assembled?

These products are described as DIY or precut kits for on-site assembly, not as fully assembled sheds. Assembly requirements vary by model.

Do these wood shed kits include paint and shingles?

Paint and shingles are excluded for the Designer and Hawthorne models, and paint and roofing shingles are excluded for the Scarsdale. Check each listing for the exact package contents.

Which listed kit has the largest stated interior?

The Little Cottage Co. 10-by-20 Value Workshop lists a 200-square-foot interior, the largest stated interior in this comparison.

Which models list operable windows?

Both Little Cottage Co. Value Workshop kits list fully functional windows. The Designer listing includes windows but does not specify that they are operable.

Is a floor included with every kit?

No. The Hawthorne explicitly excludes a floor kit. The Designer and Scarsdale names specify floor kits, and the 10-by-20 Little Cottage Co. listing says it includes a floor. Verify package details for the model you select.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *