For a roller shade explicitly listed without a valance, the Coolaroo Exterior Roller Shade is the clearest match: its product name specifies “No Valance,” and its breathable fabric blocks up to 90% of UV rays. For indoor blackout needs, compare the SHADESLINE and AOSKY shades, but confirm their hardware configuration before ordering because their listings do not specify whether a valance is included. The SUNOFF model is included as a contrast, not a match: its listing explicitly describes a valance.
| Product | Best suited for | Valance information |
|---|---|---|
| Coolaroo Exterior Roller Shade | Outdoor shade and airflow | Explicitly says no valance |
| SHADESLINE Blackout Roller Shade | Blackout in a 51-inch window | Not specified |
| AOSKY Blackout Roller Shade, 34-inch | Cordless room darkening | Not specified |
| AOSKY Blackout Roller Shade, 23-inch | Narrow indoor windows | Not specified |
| SUNOFF Blackout Roller Shade | Buyers open to a valance | Valance included by design |
Coolaroo Exterior Roller Shade

Best for: Buyers seeking an outdoor roller shade that is explicitly labeled no valance. This 4-foot-wide by 6-foot-long mocha shade uses breathable knitted HDPE fabric. The manufacturer says it blocks up to 90% of harmful UV rays while allowing airflow, helping reduce heat and provide privacy.
Choose this model if airflow and sun protection matter more than fully blocking light. The product is designed for exterior use, so it is a different fit from indoor blackout shades. Its stated UV blocking is 90%, not 100% blackout, and the supplied details do not describe indoor mounting hardware.
SHADESLINE Cordless Blackout Shade

Best for: Buyers who need an ivory blackout shade for a 51-inch inside-mount window frame. The listed overall size is 51 inches wide by 80 inches high; the fabric is 50 inches wide, one inch narrower than the total shade width. Its polyester fabric is described as 100% blackout with thermal insulation and UV protection.
This is a strong indoor option when the measured frame width falls within the listed 51-to-51.9-inch range. The listing does not specify whether a valance is included, so verify the hardware appearance if a bare roller is essential. Measure carefully, since fabric width and total shade width differ.
AOSKY Cordless Blackout Shade, 34-Inch

Best for: Buyers looking for a 34-inch-wide, 72-inch-high black indoor shade with cordless adjustment. Its free-stop system lets users position the shade at a preferred height. The listing also describes a heat-insulation coating, light blocking, UV protection, thermal insulation, and quiet operation.
Choose this model for adjustable privacy and a cordless design rather than for a confirmed no-valance appearance. The product information provided does not state whether a valance is present. Confirm that detail with the seller and check the listed dimensions against the window before purchase.
AOSKY Cordless Blackout Shade, 23-Inch

Best for: Narrow indoor windows that suit a 23-inch-wide by 72-inch-high shade. This grey model uses 100% polyester fabric with a thermal-insulated coating. Its listing says it blocks sunlight and UV rays and has a spring-loaded cordless mechanism that can stop at different positions.
The cordless operation and narrow size distinguish it from the 34-inch AOSKY model. The listing does not specify a valance, so buyers who require an exposed roller should check product images or ask the seller before ordering. Its blackout performance may also be more than needed for rooms where filtered daylight is preferred.
SUNOFF Blackout Shade With Valance

Best for: Buyers comparing blackout features who are willing to accept a valance. This 34-by-72-inch white shade has a free-stop cordless system, blackout fabric, and a thermal-insulation coating. Its listing says the matching aluminum-alloy valance conceals the roller mechanism and uses hidden mounting accessories.
This model is not a match for a strict no-valance requirement. It is included to make the distinction clear: the manufacturer specifically describes a valance. Avoid this option if your goal is an exposed roller mechanism or a shade with no top cover.
Buying Guide: How to Choose a Roller Shade Without a Valance
Does the listing explicitly say “no valance”?
Start with the product description and images. In this selection, Coolaroo is the only listing that explicitly says “No Valance.” The other indoor models do not provide enough information to confirm their configuration. Ask the seller or inspect current product images before buying when the absence of a valance is essential.
Should you choose blackout fabric or breathable fabric?
Choose blackout fabric when reducing incoming light and increasing privacy are priorities. The SHADESLINE and AOSKY indoor listings describe blackout or light-blocking features. Choose the Coolaroo outdoor shade if airflow and UV reduction matter more. Its stated protection is up to 90% of UV rays, so it is not equivalent to a 100% blackout shade.
How should you measure the window?
Check both the product’s overall width and fabric width, and follow its instructions for inside or outside mounting. SHADESLINE lists a 51-inch total width but a 50-inch fabric width. AOSKY offers distinct 23-inch and 34-inch widths. Do not assume a shade’s stated width equals the fabric coverage.
What else matters for daily use?
Compare cordless operation, room-darkening needs, material, and intended location. Cordless designs can avoid hanging cords, while a free-stop or spring system allows height adjustment. Confirm that the product is intended for indoor or exterior use, and check the size and valance details before placing an order.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which product explicitly has no valance?
The Coolaroo Exterior Roller Shade is explicitly described as a no-valance model in its product name.
Are the AOSKY shades confirmed to have no valance?
No. Their provided descriptions do not specify whether a valance is included. Confirm the configuration with the seller before ordering.
Which option is intended for outdoor use?
The Coolaroo shade is the exterior option. Its breathable knitted fabric is described as blocking up to 90% of harmful UV rays.
Which shades are described as blackout?
SHADESLINE, both AOSKY models, and SUNOFF are described as blackout or light-blocking shades. SUNOFF explicitly includes a valance.
Does the SUNOFF model meet a no-valance requirement?
No. Its listing describes a valance that conceals the roller mechanism, so it is not suitable for buyers who require no valance.